Necessity is the mother of re-invention

I had an interview yesterday with a temporary agency.  I had been a temporary employee many years ago and I was never out of work as a temp.  I’m not sure if I interviewed as well as I would have liked.  I felt that the interviewer was trying too hard to be polite to me.  I was told that no temporary or permanent positions were available at this time.

I met with another agency today.  I know, I’ve been told it’s morally wrong to be working with two agencies.   I hope one doesn’t find out about the other but I feel so unfaithful right now.  The second agency showed some interest so I feel better about my indiscretion.  One of them will have my complete loyalty when I get an assignment.

The second agency told me that I’m having trouble finding work due to my age and specialized financial experience – translation:  I’m too old and I’ve worked for one company for too long.  I hate being told that I’m too old to get a job. And I remember a time when working for one company until retirement was admirable.  But this thinking just proves that I’m probably too old for corporate America.

I sat with other middle-aged women in the waiting room at the agency.  As each was called for an interview, I and the others wished them “good luck.”  We were all there for the same reason: we were unable to find employment in our professions and couldn’t seem to get a chance in a new one.

The interviewer told me that I will probably be placed in a new industry. That’s fine with me.  I think my long-term survival depends on my flexibility in a new career.  I’m looking forward to the challenge of a different career.  I just need one person willing to give me a chance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

