A week in review: the job search

I applied for 14 positions this week.  Of those 14 positions, one of them is a scam and I received one immediate rejection email for an entry level position.

I did some networking at the beginning of the week with the hospital foundation and have an interview scheduled in July for a volunteer position at the hospital.  I’ve been interested in doing some volunteer work there for quite some time now and the process of applying to be a volunteer is very much like interviewing for a paid position.

I had one phone interview with a company that had already filled the position but we agreed to continue with the interview anyway.  I can use the interview experience.

I have no interviews scheduled for next week and I am disappointed about that.  But I’m meeting a friend on Monday and we plan to discuss some ideas she has that may help me find a job.  I can use all the help I can get.

I attended a skills workshop at the local unemployment office.  The workshop was given by a major staffing agency in our area.  Most of the attendees were in their 50s and 60s; one or two of them were probably in their 30s.  What was evident though is that all of us are long-term unemployed and very disheartened.  The recruiters gave us some good information:

A company will not hire us unless we have all of the required skills for the position and the skill set must be recent.

To find a job, it is necessary and acceptable to register with as many agencies as possible.  However, the applicant should not annoy the agencies – we should follow up by email every 7-10 days to ask if any positions are available.  The agency is not likely to call us with a position.

Clean up social media profiles.  I do this already by checking my Facebook page daily to delete any posts or photos that my friends think are hilarious but will make me look bad when an employer looks at my profile.

I could tell that many of the attendees were already disgusted by the long process of selling themselves on the job market and being insulted by prospective employers about their age and/or the employer’s perception of the applicant’s lack of value.  It may be illegal for a company to ask or talk about age but all of them do it anyway.  We reviewed a number of acceptable lies that we have to tell in order to make ourselves look better in an interview.  Overall, the workshop gave me a few tips to reformat my resume (again!) and a reality check that I shouldn’t expect the job search to be easy.  But I think I already knew that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A week in review: the job search

  1. Job searching is an absolute nightmare. Lucky for me this time I am just underemployed with my part-time job. I think I spend a couple of hrs a day either going through job alerts and applying for jobs.

    • Natasha says:

      I’m guess I’m looking forward to underemployment as opposed to unemployment. i won’t have to work so hard to find a job?

      • It just gives me less time to look for jobs than if I was unemployed. I’m lucky that my job is flexible so if I get an interview one day, I can change my schedule for it.

Leave a Reply

