The professional identity crisis

I read LinkedIn mostly to read articles on professional development and economic trends. My attempt at networking hasn’t produced much in helping me find work but some of the influencer articles are useful.  A common theme discussed on LinkedIn is the need for the professional to have a “brand” or professional identity.

I don’t know what to say anymore when someone asks me about my profession.  I once called myself a banker or financial services professional.  But I’ve been unemployed for more than a year.

It seems odd to call myself a banker or financial services professional if I’m unemployed. Especially when banks and other financial institutions disregard me when I apply for industry related positions.  I have a few friends who were former financial services professionals.  They now work in retail.  Some still refer to themselves as financial services professionals.  But that is probably misleading.

I created a separate resume to apply for administrative positions but employers still point to my experience in finance as a reason to reject me.  When I was asked recently at an interview for a volunteer position at the hospital why I can’t find a financial position, I feel uncomfortable because I don’t have a good answer to that question.

I have been told that my resume scares any employer that I apply to for a professional or entry-level position.  I avoid using a resume when applying for a retail position opting instead to complete the employment application.  I don’t know what to do about the “problem” of my profession or my work history since it is what it is.  I WAS a financial services professional.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The professional identity crisis

  1. jackcollier7 says:

    I worked in Banking for a long, long time. Then I worked in Consultancy. And then I walked out on Finance. A good excuse for no longer being in Banking / Finance is to say that there are too many people driven by hubris in that business these days. (True.) I hated retail. Owning a trailer park was fun ~ you can get to like trailer park people. Being an unemployed bum was, educational. When I wanted a job I realised that hardly any jobs are awarded by the conventional recruitment process. Most jobs come via your ‘network’ and if you haven’t got one then perhaps you need to work on that, and it’s bloody hard work. All the very best. Jack Collier

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you for visiting my blog. I’m working on a post about the past 15 months of unemployment that will include my thoughts on leaving Banking behind me and moving in a new direction. Networking has produced a few interviews but no job yet. It has been hard work but I’m looking forward to trying something new.

Leave a Reply

