A year in review…so far

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/daily-prompt-now/

I began the year as I am now – unemployed but hoping for a good job opportunity.

Having time off from work gave me time for house repairs so I replaced the ceilings throughout the house due to the damage caused by Hurricane Sandy. The contractor and his workers were responsible for a stressful week of demolition, drywall, spackle and painting. I followed with a few weeks of cleanup after the repair was completed. The cats were more relaxed during the cleanup phase as they had been constantly on edge when the “sky was falling” and there were too many strangers in the house doing repair work. The cats then had to tolerate my painting the walls – again – and I had to keep calm as they walked through the paint tray leaving permanent paw print designs throughout the house.

I started the memory garden in the front yard and am pleased at how nice it looks and how well it is growing.

I began blogging in April and don’t know why I didn’t start writing sooner as it has been therapeutic for me.

Unemployment and grief have affected my mood this year. I can’t do anything about the grief but I can do something about the unemployment. Well, I thought I could do something about the unemployment but job hunting is harder than I thought it would be. Who knew that I would still be unemployed after applying for several hundred jobs? I’ve had a lot of time to think about the kind of work I’d be willing to do and I find that I’m more flexible than I thought I was about it. I’ve realized that I’m really just starting over again in the working world.

I am looking forward to beginning a volunteer position soon and I hope it will soon lead to better things in my life.

I don’t have a crystal ball so I don’t know what the future holds for me. I hope it includes a new job. I’d like to write a better State of the Year report at the end of 2013.

This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Grief, Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A year in review…so far

  1. That EJ says:

    All the best with the job hunt! The right one will come along when the time is right.Sounds like you’re doing all the right things, so it’s only a matter of time. 🙂

  2. weggieboy says:

    I can’t imagine Sandy on top of all else! Thngs can’t be more perverse. Anyway, good luck in the next phase of your life, and may you find a job soon.

    • Natasha says:

      When it rains, it pours – literally. But when I put things in perspective, the hurricane and job loss have much less importance than the loss of my husband. I can better deal with unemployment if I look at it that way.

  3. All my very best to you in your job search. You are so eloquent, and open.

Leave a Reply

