The value of an expired coupon

What is the value of an expired coupon?

Zero?

Not at Bed Bath & Beyond.

I collect the blue and white coupons that appear every week in the mail or newspaper. There’s no need to check them for expiration dates.  Just scoop up a few 20% coupons and $5.00 off coupons before going out the door and you can save quite a bit of money.

A few years ago, a friend told me how to use Bed Bath & Beyond coupons.  The store doesn’t check the coupons for expiration dates and the customer can use as many coupons as they like.  I didn’t believe him and I was surprised to find out it was true.

I believe the company has an expired coupon policy but I haven’t seen them enforce it. The company knows the coupons are driving traffic to their stores.  I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.

I use coupons and discounts whenever I can.  Especially when buying Keurig K-cups, Yankee candles and other household items I wouldn’t buy if I had to pay full price for them.

I take extra coupons with me to the store as there will usually be a coupon-less customer ahead of me or behind me looking longingly at my stack of coupons. I have more coupons than anyone should ever need so I’m happy to fan out my coupons like playing cards and tell my fellow shopper to take a coupon or two or three of them.  I’ve heard that this charitable act plays out every day at Bed Bath & Beyond stores around the country.  It cost me nothing – but a savings of 20% on a big ticket item is a nice gift to receive from a stranger.  The smile and friendliness I receive from another customer just for giving away a coupon is more than worth the effort.  It makes me smile too.

Bed Bath & Beyond –helping to spread good will – one coupon at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

