Disgruntled felines

I started my part time job this week in addition to my part time volunteer position at the hospital.  It is difficult getting used to a different kind of work schedule after years of working 9 to 5.  I work three days a week at the hospital and I work various days and nights at the store – sometimes working at the hospital and the store on the same days. I haven’t figured out how to create a new routine for myself at home since I am exhausted when I come home each evening.  How do I schedule in house-cleaning, bill-paying and other necessary tasks as well as find time to relax?

I think my cats are having a rough time with the new routine as well. They were accustomed to having me at home most of the day and were fed on a regular schedule  – their schedule.  They have dry food and water but that’s not good enough for them.   I’m certain I wouldn’t enjoy eating dry kibble either.  For the past few days, I have been greeted rushed at the door by Simon, Sofia and Alex. For those who have dogs and are used to being greeted at the door by your loving pets, let me tell you that cats don’t usually show much enthusiasm when their human (servant) comes home. The looks on their anxious faces told me that they were starving as I had the audacity to come home three hours (!) after their normal feeding time.

I guess it’s a good thing that I’m too tired to worry about making dinner for myself after working all day .  I trudge into the kitchen (immediately) each evening  like a dutiful minion to fill their plates with canned food.  Alex chatters as he follows me to the kitchen and continues to chatter as he eats his food.  I gain a few hours of silence until my darlings wake me up very early in the morning to inform me that I am again neglecting them.

Discontent grows each day…

cat plotting

Image borrowed from Angelasanxiouslife.blogspot.com

This entry was posted in Cats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disgruntled felines

  1. weggieboy says:

    Yes, my two Persians make sure I know they are unhappy when I show up late to put out their supper! Fortunately, though I have HOW TO TELL IF YOUR CAT IS PLOTTING TO KILL YOU, they don’t seem upset enough to take care of the issue with violent means. Yet!

    Good luck with your critters!

    • Natasha says:

      Cats aren’t shy about demanding things. I haven’t bought the book but I think the image is funny. The cat in the photo looks like my Sofia and if any of my cats had any plans to do away with me, it would be Sofia. She has a bad attitude. lol

Leave a Reply

