What’s in a name?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/daily-prompt-identity/

My real name is not Natasha.   Mom told me that she and my Dad gave me a French name in honor of my grandmother.  Years later, I discovered that my grandfather had been hiding his French ancestry for much of his adult life.  Therefore, in reality, I was named in honor of both of them.

I have an uncommon name that originated in the 1920s by combining two names – one English and one French name.  The French portion of the name is derived from a masculine name that was also the name of an emperor.  The feminine form of the name means “beloved.”  My name is uncommon enough that I am surprised when I meet someone with the same name and they are surprised as well to meet someone with their name.  My name is made up of just six letters and two syllables but it is difficult to pronounce and spell – especially by non-native speakers of English.  Richard and Stephen called me only by the first syllable of my name – and they were the only ones I allowed to use my name in that way. When Richard was annoyed with me, he would add my middle name as well.  I knew if I heard both names, I was in for a lecture.

I grew up with first and last names that didn’t sound right together and could be a tongue twister.  I chose to give up my father’s name when I married Richard.  Richard’s surname seemed a perfect match for my first name.  I now legally use a double-barrelled name that is a combination of Richard’s and Stephen’s surnames and my name has become much more interesting.

Everyone tells me I have such a pretty name and I share their opinion.  It’s a shame that I use a pseudonym.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream
  2. My Name Is My Superpower | A Writer’s Journey:
  3. The illegal name | Life is great
  4. Man’s Defender and Man’s Best Friend | Farfetched Friends
  5. “Name that… YOU!” | Little Talks
  6. What’s In a Name? | the mmmmm family
  7. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Vagabond
  8. What’s in a name? | thepoolehall
  9. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Name – A world of its own | Prateek Bhatia
  10. Daily Prompt: What’s in my Name? | In So Many Words
  11. Four Little Letters | Prose and Possibilities
  12. The Importance of Names | The Daily 400
  13. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | La chica de la burbuja
  14. A Void of Heather | heathervoid
  15. Born Identity || My Own Victory | Mind My Mind But…
  16. Daily Prompt: Name that…..you | Valley Girl Gone Country
  17. Me – Zermatt, Switzerland | alternative.reality
  18. When you Hear Hoofbeats, Think Horses not Zebras – Daily Prompt: Name that… | Babsje Heron
  19. Name Game | Cowgirl Up!
  20. What’s in a Name?? | The Pigeon Blog
  21. Victoria: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | vicbriggs’s Blog
  22. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Stories for the Heart
  23. Your name and you | Emotional Fitness
  24. Oh, Mum why? | Emotional Resonance and Rocket Launchers
  25. what’s in my name | Musings of a Random Mind
  26. Just Call Me Blessed | Wiley’s Wisdom
  27. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Moonlight Reflections
  28. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Happy Monkey Land and Other Musings on Life
  29. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | My Atheist Blog
  30. I was named after a dog | Build To Think
  31. Daily Prompt: Name that… YOU! | catnipoflife
  32. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! 2|9 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  33. Four Letter Word to Get Us Along | Your Smile is Priceless
  34. Identity | Simple Smiles
  35. Daily post: Name who? | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  36. the name, the date, and the birthday | whimsical mayhem
  37. A hero by any other name… | Legends of Lorata
  38. A Rose by Any Other Name … | OK, Who Ate The Daisies …
  39. Daily Prompt: Identity | sukies original
  40. my name is… | wannabepoet
  41. The Road Of Life | Carmela Snelbaker
  42. Name That… You! | suzie81’s Blog
  43. JJJ Challenge: Just Jane | Tell Tale Therapy
  44. Namelee [Daily Prompt: Name that… You!] | unknowinglee
  45. They Call Me… | Life of a Minister Mom
  46. What is in a name? | Live Life Tr3mendously
  47. The Blessing of a Name | mardmood
  48. ‘Suhana safar aur yeh mausam haseen’ | suhaaandiaries
  49. My real name is… | My thought exactly…!
  50. A New Name | Compass & Quill
  51. The Ice-Breaker That Is My Name | Life In Pakistan
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s in a name?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

  2. I too have a French name which English speakers never spell correctly. 🙂

  3. Pingback: my name | THE WORM IN MY APPLE

Leave a Reply

