Underemployment – A week of opportunities

Those who regularly read my blog know that I recently began working a part-time retail position and a part-time volunteer position at the hospital.

Early this week, I received a call from a recruiter who wanted to discuss with me a lucrative banking position in New York City.   Two days later, I received an offer for a full time position at the hospital where I have been working as a volunteer.  The pay for the position at the hospital is approximately 1/3 of my former salary as a banker but will provide me with medical benefits.  The day after I received the offer from the hospital, I received a call from an insurance company where I had interviewed two months ago for a position that I really wanted.   The hiring manager wanted to know if I was still interested in the position.  The position at the insurance company will provide compensation much greater than the hospital position.

Can you guess which position I accepted?

I am pleased to write that I have accepted the full-time position at the hospital and will continue to work on a part-time basis at the store.  It wasn’t a hard decision for me to make.  Life is not all about money.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Underemployment – A week of opportunities

  1. Being happy and doing what you love is priceless! ♥

  2. weggieboy says:

    I’m pleased for you!

  3. vakunzmann says:

    Congratulations! Good choice and good for you.

  4. Hooray for good news! I am so happy for you! Best of luck with the new position!

  5. MissSteele says:

    You are absolutely right, life isn’t about the money. Isn’t it funny how things happen this way? You can really think you want one thing, finally have the chance to get it, then take the other road anyway in the end.

  6. Congrats. I’ve started applying for jobs that will pay but I’ll absolutely hate. Hopefully soon I’ll get one that I love and plays well.

Leave a Reply

