The days before television

Many of us have family photos that include long-forgotten family or friends.  A few years ago, I was given the following photo by a half-step-cousin on my father’s side of the family.  I won’t try to explain the half-step family relationship; it’s too complicated for anyone not familiar with my family.  My half-step-cousin asked me if I could identify the two women in the photo since no one in her family recognized them. I don’t recognize the women but hope some day I’ll collect more images of them so that I can identify them.

two women

I was reminded of this photo some time later when my mother’s stepmother told me stories about growing up in the days before television.  Grandma was born in a small midwestern town in 1911.  She told me that she and her siblings played dress-up on Sunday afternoons.  Grandma and her sisters dressed up in their brothers clothing and their brothers dressed up in their sisters clothing.  I never would have thought of cross-dressing as a normal Sunday afternoon activity for children in the 1920s.  I still get a chuckle when I think about it.

This entry was posted in Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The days before television

  1. Harsha says:

    Hahaha..That was their way of keeping them entertained..Interesting Indeed.. 🙂

  2. Natasha says:

    I have a memory of dress-up days in high school and remember some of the boys (mostly the football players) dressing up as girls. They really enjoyed that and we had a good laugh about it.

Leave a Reply

