Remembering better times

Mom recently sent me the following photo of her and my late stepfather.

parents

I had never seen the photo and I thought it was really funny. My stepfather had a sense of humor but it was never what could be considered “silly” humor.  So I know that the red noses and reindeer antlers were Mom’s idea. I didn’t inherit Mom’s sense of humor or dressing up. Well, maybe one time.  I joined my fellow animal shelter volunteers in the city’s Halloween parade.  We dressed as cats and dogs and paraded up and down the main street of the city.  I dressed up as a cat.  To be fair, Richard had passed away earlier in the year and I know I wasn’t in my right mind…

The photo of my mom and step-dad is dated 1991 – six years after their divorce.  They continued as a couple for a number of years before they finally moved on from their marriage and divorce.  I had hoped that they might eventually remarry but that never happened.

The photo makes me laugh and reminds me of better times.

This entry was posted in Love, Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

