I’m not alone

I’ve been so busy since my period of unemployment ended.  I now have two jobs – one at the hospital and one at a retail store.  I work 60-70 hours a week between the two jobs. The long hours are a shock to my system. More than one year of unemployment negatively affected my bank account so I try not to complain too much.

But I complain or vent anyway. I have so little free time that I am getting behind in housework, grocery shopping, bill paying, etc.  I find a few minutes to write blog posts from time to time.  My friends and family rarely hear from me anymore.  When I meet new people, I am asked what I do in my free time. I work, eat and sleep.  I admit to others that at the moment I have no “life” but hope that will change someday. I am having some difficulty in convincing my retail employer not to add on additional hours for me after the schedule has been set as I need time to catch up on personal matters.  I work seven days a week and one some days, I work for both employers.  My retail manager will sometimes ask me to come in earlier on my scheduled days but that is not always possible for me.

I am exhausted.  I am drinking too much coffee and trying to eat enough but am starting to lose weight again.

We are understaffed at the store.  Recent personnel changes require my manager to call for help from other locations.  Some of the employees from the other stores appear to be facing the same challenges in balancing work and life.  They are either full-time students or have other jobs in addition to the retail position.  They too are trying to find the time take care of routine or personal matters while working the equivalent of two full time jobs. I  don’t know how they do it.

I wonder how long I can keep up this pace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m not alone

  1. You need to make YOU the priority ~ schedule some ‘me’ time into your week so that you know there is peace and quiet beyond your pillow. I hope your schedule becomes easier as time goes on ~ great that you have 2 jobs! 🙂

    • Natasha says:

      Thank you. I am trying to schedule time away from work and have to be firm about not agreeing to come to work when I’m not on the schedule. I don’t want to complain about having 2 jobs – just a few months ago, I couldn’t find a job.

  2. jackcollier7 says:

    Try tea instead of coffee. Better still try camomile tea. Take care, working 60-70 hours a week gets very wearing.

    • Natasha says:

      I’ve been replacing one cup of coffee each day with tea for some time now. I am sure it is better than coffee. I was criticized just yesterday by a co-worker about the fact that I complain about not having enough time – but I try to get 6-8 hours of sleep – I was told me that I should be able to get by on 3-4 hours of sleep – but she works only 40 hours so I don’t think she understands the problem.

Leave a Reply

