Here lies…

G.M.B. and his brothers A.M.B and E.E.B. left the midwest county of their youth in the 1880s to clear and settle land in an Indian village of a neighboring county.  The town was soon named for the three brothers.  G.M.B and his brothers became the town’s first supervisors and G.M.B. was the first postmaster of the town.

Shortly thereafter, E.E.B. (who was an attorney) headed to Colorado to seek his fortune in real estate.  The lives of G.M.B and A.M.B. remain in the memories of those who were told of the town’s founding brothers as well as in the local history books.  G.M.B. lived his final years with his daughter and her second husband in a nearby county.  He died in 1921.  Within a few years of G.M.B.’s death, his brother A.M.B. moved to Washington State and his children and grandchildren followed him.

G.M.B. was my gr.gr.grandfather.

On my first visit to the state of Wisconsin, I visited many cemeteries to research my various families.  I couldn’t find the grave of G.M.B.  I visited the cemetery in the town that bore his name but he was not buried in the cemetery with his daughter.   I looked for his grave in the cemetery in the town where he lived with his daughter at the time of his death.  I went to the cemetery in his home county where his parents and siblings and their families were buried.  I couldn’t find a headstone that bore his name.  But I photographed every headstone within the area of the family’s graves.

When I returned to New Jersey, I ordered a copy of G.M.B’s death certificate from the State of Wisconsin and his interment location was noted as the cemetery where his parents and siblings were buried.  I wrote to the cemetery keeper and was informed that my gr.gr.grandfather’s name did not appear in the records of the cemetery.  This did not make sense to me since the death certificate indicated that one of G.M.B.’s brothers had interred him there.

I finally looked through the gravestone photos that I had taken and knew then that the cemetery keeper was mistaken.  It was quite evident that G.M.B had been buried there.

gmb

This entry was posted in Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

