Letters to the deceased – The jury summons

I received a jury summons in the mail for Richard about two years after his death.  I was surprised to receive the summons since Richard’s death had earlier been reported to federal, state and local agencies.  I didn’t anticipate the difficulty in notifying the Jury Management Office that Richard would not be reporting for jury duty.

I called the Jury Management Office to inform them that Richard had passed away.  The clerk either didn’t understand me when I told her that Richard was deceased – or she didn’t want to understand me.  We went back and forth on the phone for a while as I attempted to have Richard excused from jury duty on account of his death.  The clerk asked me for Richard’s current address and I gave her the street address and the name of the cemetery where he was interred.

I thought I was finally getting through to her when she said, “Well, I guess then we can excuse him from jury duty.”

I responded, “That would be an excellent idea.  I’m quite certain that he won’t be appearing for jury duty.”

There was an awkward silence at the other end of the phone.

Then finally her response, “I’ll remove his name from our records.”

Sometimes the only appropriate response is a sarcastic one.

This entry was posted in Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letters to the deceased – The jury summons

  1. oh my god – sometimes bureaucracy beggers belief in its crassness and stupidity – what a good job you have a sense of humour and were robust enough to deal with such a ridiculous error

  2. weggieboy says:

    My mother received a jury notice when she was 96 and living in a care center. She was pretty much totally deaf, blind in one eye, incontinent, physically unable to walk, etc. etc. I had some issues myself dealing with the court on that one.

    Your example is even more alarming, and I suspect I would have been sarcastic, too.

Leave a Reply

