The mind’s eye

I listen with fascination

As you share with me

Stories of life in Europa

When you were a young man

Tales from your youth in Portuguesa

And romantic days and nights in Paris

So many years before I was born

 

Languages I will never understand

And places I will never see

Except in the scenes that I can imagine

As you share the memories

That reside only in your mind

Since your eyes no longer see

Anything but shadows and darkness

But I can see your life quite clearly

Since your mind’s eye remembers them well

This entry was posted in Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

