Keeping them warm

I usually place the grave blanket on the family plot for Richard and his parents by Thanksgiving Day.  It rained heavily the day before Thanksgiving so I postponed my annual ritual since the cemetery gets very muddy after a severe storm.

Each day, I had a reason to procrastinate placing the blanket on the grave.  Working two jobs means I don’t have much time or energy to do the things I want to do.  I placed the grave blanket today even though I worked very late at the store the previous night.  I was fatigued and considered going home after my shift at the hospital but instead drove to the Christmas tree lot.  I purchased the grave blanket and drove to the cemetery where I placed and staked the blanket.  I was too tired today to handle this project but I feel better now that I have remembered Richard and his family in the way I always remember them during the holiday season.

grave

This entry was posted in Grief, Love, Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping them warm

  1. It will be flowers in the Garden of Remembrance on Christmas Eve to remember my late mother, and many others.

Leave a Reply

