Identity theft – again

One year ago,  I noticed an unknown pending transaction on my credit card account and discovered that someone had ordered $1000 of nutritional supplements with my credit card information.  My bank immediately cancelled my credit card and reissued a new card.  I filed a report with the police department and I began a subscription to a credit monitoring service after ordering free credit reports.

Last night, I received a call from the Fraud Prevention department at my bank because two large transactions at Macys in Long Island, NY had been posted to my Visa credit card that day.  I’m happy the bank identified the transactions as fraudulent even though the bank didn’t know that I don’t shop at Macys – and I would more likely shop at the Macys that is within 10 minutes from my home rather than travel to New York.  The bank has now cancelled the card that replaced the card that had been misused last year.  My bank suspects that my card information was stolen in the Target data breach as I had used the card a number of times at Target during the period of the data breach in 2013.

However, my bank is making the card replacement/dispute process more cumbersome than they did last year when my account was compromised.  The fraudulent charges were transferred to and will remain on my new credit card as disputed items until I complete and return the affidavits that I should soon receive in the mail from the bank.

I hadn’t been checking my credit accounts regularly since I began working again.  I think it’s time to start watching my accounts more closely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Identity theft – again

  1. suzie81 says:

    I’m really sorry, what a crappy thing to happen to you!

  2. So sorry this happened to you…twice! Yikes! Glad you caught them!

  3. weggieboy says:

    I’ve had that problem twice in the past year with my American Express card. Both times, AMEX caught the transactions as atypical for me, and notified me. One was a $600+ FedEx freight bill and another under $5 charge, both in Hong Kong, This past week, it was a an $89 (in Canadian dollars) for something called foodforcanada….!

    Though I didn’t end up with anything more than the irritation of having to deal with a third AMEX card in less than a year, I definitely wish I could determine how and when the theft attempt happened. I’m looking at those wallets that block electronic snooping (and snatching) of credit card information, though they are pricey.

    You are right about watching charges on your statements very closely, too. I’ve had to contact VISA to get spurious charges back out in the past.

    • Natasha says:

      I think the bank is making the process more difficult because credit card theft is happening more frequently and in some cases, cardholders are disputing valid charges in order to avoid paying their bills. I don’t know how someone was able to walk into a Macys in Long Island and make two $200 charges on the same day using my credit card information when the credit card is in my wallet. But I also don’t understand why a catalog company (last year’s fraud was with Puritan’s Pride) would accept a credit card from a customer when the name and address information on the card is different from that of the customer. These companies deserve to lose money when they accept credit cards from unauthorized users.

  4. jackcollier7 says:

    Always check your statements, and if you have electronic access to your accounts, then try and check the balances daily. (Ex-overpaid banker speaking here.)

    • Natasha says:

      I do these things as well. I am also an ex-overpaid banker who understands how these things happen but the fraudulent charges get through. I found the pending Puritan’s Pride transaction by checking my account early in the morning. At the time, I was checking my accounts twice a day. The person who used my credit card used it late in the evening so it was not detected until morning.

  5. mintedmoose says:

    Fair play to then for pickingit up! NMy bank is really on the ball with this sort of thing. I remember trying to do some onlin shopping one night and had a phone all within minutes as they thought it was weird for me to be doing it so late at night. Hope it gets sorted for you sooner rather than later xXx

    • Natasha says:

      I heard in the news that other stores have now been affected by hackers but the stores are not being named. My bank seems to be weary and wary of claims of credit card theft and is more likely now to make its customers jump through hoops to clear their accounts of fraudulent charges.

  6. Datel says:

    AMERICAN EXPRESS CALLED ME TODAY I NEVER SHOPPED AT PURITANS PRIDE INC. UNAUTHORISED CHARGES.. AEX TOOK CHARGES OFF AND IS CHANGING THE CARD.

Leave a Reply

