The posthumous Facebook profile

“Happy Birthday Mom!”  These words were posted last week on the Facebook page of one of my Facebook friends.  “Mom” passed away early in 2013.  Her children had not deactivated her Facebook account and were wishing Mom a happy birthday in heaven. “Mom” remains one of my Facebook friends.

The Facebook profile of my late husband Stephen remains active even though he passed away in 2012.  None of Stephen’s Facebook friends have “unfriended” him.  I have a photo of Stephen as the cover photo in my profile and Stephen’s daughter uses a photo of her and her dad as her profile photo on Facebook.  I have Stephen’s Facebook password but just can’t bring myself to deactivate his profile.  I don’t know when I’ll be ready to take that step.

Stephen’s daughter has made no  attempt to ask me for her dad’s password so that she can delete his profile.  This is fine with me.  I’ll deal with it when that time comes.

This entry was posted in Love, Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

