Nine lives

Alexander’s deteriorating condition is posing challenges for me in trying to keep him out of harm’s way.  He has a brain tumor, is blind, has only three good legs and his cognitive skills are severely diminished.  He regularly gets into tight spots or behind doorways and can’t figure out how to get out of these “tricky” situations.

In the last few days, he has alarmed me with a few episodes that could have ended badly for him.

Three days in a row, I came home to find him in the basement.  As I wrote in the first paragraph, Alexander is blind and has only three good legs.  I don’t know how he is going down to the basement and I don’t think he is falling down the stairs.

The first day, I came home to find Alexander wandering around the basement.

I came home from work the second day and Alexander was missing again.  I called his name and heard the sound of weak mewing coming up from the basement.   I walked down to the basement and saw that it was flooded due to the melting of the recent snowstorm.  Alexander was in the back of the basement next to the furnace facing the wall and standing in ice-cold water up to his belly.  He would have drowned if the strength in his legs had given out.  I scooped him up, wrapped him in a towel and brought him up to the kitchen.  He attempted several times to stand but his legs were numb and he fell down every time he tried to stand.  I took out some cat dishes and when I popped the ring on a cat food can, he sprang to his feet and hurried to be the first one to be fed.

On the third day, I came home from work and wondered where Alexander was hiding.  Again, I heard the sound of mewing emanating from the basement.  I hurried downstairs and was horrified to find Alexander wedged inside the sump well in the front basement into which he had fallen.  The hole was about 14 inches deep and about 12 inches square and he was lying in the well on top of the overturned Ridgid sump pump.  If I hadn’t heard Alexander’s mewing, my first impression upon seeing him would have been that I had discovered his dead body in the well.  I picked him up and placed him on the kitchen floor as I had done the previous day.  I witnessed his miraculous recovery from his trauma as I opened yet another cat food can.

I have been dealing with Alexander’s health issues for more than a year now.  I don’t know what to do to protect him from the results of his own mischief.  He has used two of his nine lives in less than one week.

This entry was posted in Cats, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nine lives

  1. jackcollier7 says:

    We both know he’s going to break your heart, one of these days. Still, that’s what having a cat does for us. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

  2. Natasha says:

    Yes, he’s going to break my heart when he passes away. I’m trying to enjoy the little time that we will have together.

Leave a Reply

