Daily Prompt: Tainted Love

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/daily-prompt-tainted-love/

I’ve always been the one who was dumped in relationships. Then I met Richard.  He pursued me relentlessly and we were together for twenty years before he passed away in 2005.

After three years of widowhood, I thought it would be nice for me to have a companion.  I had one or two dates with one or two men and then I met R.  At first, he gave me the impression that he liked me very much.  At times though, he just seemed annoyed with me.  It seemed that he just wasn’t happy with my companionship.

So I wasn’t surprised a few weeks later when he called one night to ask me to stop over after class because “we needed to talk.”  He told me our relationship wasn’t working out.  I would have preferred the “It’s not you, it’s me” breakup line.  I cried for a few days after the breakup because my feelings were hurt after the end of this brief relationship.

Before my time with R., I had been speaking with Stephen by telephone and was interested in a friendship with him but had never met him in person.  During my time with R., I didn’t speak with Stephen. Two weeks after R. broke up with me, I encouraged Stephen to meet me although he repeatedly warned me that he was quite “ugly.”  ShortIy thereafter, I walked through the front door of Stephen’s house for the first time to discover that the man I had been speaking with for some time was one of the most handsome men I had ever met.  He also had a unique and fascinating personality.

Within two months of meeting Stephen, he told me that he loved me.  I realized that I was in love with him as well.  I enjoyed four years with Stephen until he passed away in 2012 after a rapid decline caused by an aggressive but previously undiagnosed cancer.

I miss Stephen very much but I think about how happy I am that R. ended our relationship on that September night in 2008.  Our breakup freed me to pursue a relationship with a man who truly cared for me.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Naturally abstract | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Tainted Love | Knowledge Addiction
  3. Song of the fallen | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. The Letter That Killed Me | Daily Prompt: Never | likereadingontrains
  5. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love-Psychology behind breaking up | Journeyman
  6. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | The Road Less Travelled By
  7. A Meal With Millie (short fiction) and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  8. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | alienorajt
  9. Keeping The Music That Counts – Release | My Days In A Song
  10. Tainted love | dandelionsinwind
  11. It Ain’t Pretty | Views Splash!
  12. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  13. One Crazy Mom » Tainted Love
  14. DP Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Sabethville
  15. Stood up at an airport | sixty, single and surviving
  16. DP: Tainted | Scorched Ice
  17. Tearful kisses – Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chojin Bain – Wondering thoughts of a Dreamer
  18. Tainted Love | Maria For Real
  19. Silent fear.. | Tale of Two Tomatoes
  20. Tainted Love: The Breakups | Living Dead Girl
  21. Dating in a Small City: Falling For the First Time — Again! | Kosher Adobo
  22. #85 – Daily Prompt | shatteringlove
  23. Secrets and lies | A picture is worth 1000 words
  24. Love is in the Air? | Anecdotes | WANGSGARD.COM
  25. Why I Blog | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  26. A six letter nightmare. | Aicela Aitacil
  27. It’s Over. It’s NOT me. It’s you | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  28. this is how I release (you) | 365 days of defiance
  29. The 3 A’s of BROKENNESS: ABUSE, ABANDONMENT, AND ADULTERY | The Christian Gazette
  30. Incarceration | La Gatita Oscura
  31. The Worst Breakup Story
  32. I dreamed you up from flames | Color me in Cyanide and Cherry
  33. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Basically Beyond Basic
  34. RELEASE | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  35. Don’t let them see | anonim0us
  36. How I Got Dumped On Valentines Day! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog
  37. MY LOVE WAS NEVER TAINTED | SERENDIPITY
  38. ThINkINg ………………..
  39. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  40. Tainted Love | the bippity boppity beautiful blog
  41. Dreams within Dreams: Daily Prompt | Finicky Philly
  42. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Lady K’s Lounge
  43. Trapped by Anxiety | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  44. ASKED OR BEEN ASKED. | mnemosynesandlethe
  45. I’m Breaking Up With You Because… | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  46. Dear Friend – You’re Dumped | The Wittering Wallflower
  47. A Different Story | Flowers and Breezes
  48. Humour me dear dumpee | soulfoood
  49. Cináed IV | The Eclectic Poet
  50. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love « Mama Bear Musings
  51. Daily Prompt: Being Alone! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  52. Yes, Kevin Spacey IS in your house of cards – somewhere. | Rob’s Surf Report
  53. Solitary | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  54. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | To Breathe is to Write
  55. Daily Prompt Tainted Love | My Travels with Depression
  56. Styrofoam Cups | loveletterstoaghost
  57. The Rejection Collection | Don’t Jerk Off To This!
  58. Tainted love | How to be good at everything
  59. Prompt: 2 Bad Relationships I’m Finally Telling People About | melissuhhsmiles
  60. In which I do a terrible thing to a nice person | Infinitefreetime
  61. You Hung Up on Me | Lewis Cave
  62. 268. …And I Never Skipped a Beat | Barely Right of Center
  63. Daily Prompt – Tainted love – Field of clouds |
  64. “Hell is empty and all the devils are here” | by LRose
  65. She Couldn’t Handle My Illness so I was Kicked to the Curb | Schizo Incognito
  66. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Pride in Madness
  67. Tainted Love and Then Swept Away by a New Love | Not The Sword But The Pen
  68. Tainted Love: Daily Post | Destino
  69. Not working out… | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  70. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Too dumb to be dumped, twice | Sayantan Jana dot com
  71. Daily Prompt: tainted love | Kawanee’s Korner
  72. Daily Prompt Tainted Love (FICTIONAL) | Kawanee’s Korner
  73. Purple Petals | Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Focal Breeze
  74. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | A Day In The Life
  75. Our Blogs (2-23-14) | My Blog imanagementbywordpress
  76. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love « Thinking Diagonally
  77. What’s love got to do with it? | Willow’s Corner
  78. belated | fragments of life
  79. Refused | Leonas Lines–Poetry Plus
  80. Daily Prompt: Release this Tainted Love | Born on a Wednesday
  81. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love/Release | @ The West Gate
  82. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Here I am !!
  83. Do you know what “plutonic” means? | Beez Giftz
  84. Uncovered Covers: Tainted Love | Laith’s Ramblings
  85. Green Suede ~ truths in literary fiction | VALENTINE BONNAIRE
  86. Daily Prompt: Friend in Need | Morrighan’s Muse
  87. Daily Prompt: Tainted Love | Christina Designs Art
  88. Heartbreak? Don’t think so! | Dapper Chapstick
  89. The Wounds of Adultery | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  90. Radiation, Seriously? | Wanderlein

 

This entry was posted in Cancer, Daily Prompt, Grief, Love, Remembrance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: Tainted Love

  1. ranu802 says:

    Good for you,you met someone who cared for you.

  2. jackcollier7 says:

    A Gentleman should never, ever ‘dump’ a woman. It isn’t fair and it isn’t nice. A gentleman should make certain that the woman in question comes to the conclusion that she has no future with him, even though he’s quite a nice guy. In extremis a Gentleman may need to lie a bit / play the gay card / move home. Sadly for blokes, do it too well and you can get savagely, comprehensively dumped, by an expert.

  3. ravisajjan says:

    Is there a thing called tainted love? Real love can never be tainted. It is the relationships that go bad. Real love doesn’t expect anything in return. It only cares and gives. It doesn’t bother about return, like a flower that just gives out what it has got, it’s beauty and it’s fragrance. We expect something; we don’t get that so we become depressed,we feel let down. Don’t expect anything from life, then whatever we get comes as a bonus, as a pleasant surprise. May be that is the secret of life.

Leave a Reply

