A visit to the accountant

I saw my accountant this past week.

The last time I saw him I was looking for a new job.

Now I have two jobs. I gave my accountant my W-2 forms for partial year employment from my two new employers, and the statements regarding my income from unemployment compensation and severance pay from my former employer of almost twenty years.

I told my accountant I don’t know how I’ll make it working for two employers who provide only 1/3 of the income I had as a banker.  I haven’t yet touched my income from investments and am avoiding that for as long as I can pay my bills.

He told me that some of his clients have received notice that they will be losing their jobs after many years of employment, as I did in 2012.  He also told me that I am lucky that I found employment before my unemployment benefits ended as some of his clients were not as lucky as I am. He agreed that the employment situation is not as rosy as our government would like us to believe.

I’d like to think that I’m lucky but I’m not so sure about that. I’ll know for sure about that when I receive my tax bill for 2013.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Unemployment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A visit to the accountant

  1. jackcollier7 says:

    It’s tough losing a job, and not only financially. Kudos for how well you’re coping with it all.

    • Natasha says:

      The emotional aspect of job loss and looking for work has affected me greatly. I’ve always had an appreciation for hard work and I take my work seriously even though I now make much less money.

Leave a Reply

