Taking its toll

One week ago, I began my alternating shift at the hospital.  My shift will be changing daily until a replacement is hired for my former colleague. I am  continuing to work my schedule  at the store until the end of the month.  At that time, I plan to work only at the hospital and hope to be able to manage my finances with only one job.

It hasn’t taken very long for me to realize that this new arrangement – the alternating shift and my retail schedule -is taking its toll on my physical and mental health.

I am exhausted and am also unhappy. I came home from the hospital last night at 7pm  expecting only to relax at home for the evening. Within minutes after coming home, I began to feel queasy and I felt tingling throughout my body. I went to bed and slept for 12 hours and still feel tired but I have much house and yard work to do today before I start my shift at the store.

I hope I can make it through the end of the month at the store without ending up in the hospital – as a patient – but it doesn’t look very promising.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking its toll

  1. weggieboy says:

    We’re cheering for you, Natasha, but please do let yourself take those 12 hour sleeps if that’s what your body’s telling you.

  2. It’s so crucial you listen to your body and don’t let your moods play tricks on you if you get sleep deprived. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

