Daily Prompt: Talking in your sleep

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/prompt-sleep/

Have you ever eavesdropped on a conversation you weren’t supposed to? Tell us about a time when it was impossible not to overhear a conversation between people who didn’t know you were there. What was the conversation about? How did it make you feel?

I was only away from the hospital for a short time while a good friend visited with Stephen.  They had been friends for many years and I knew they had a lot to talk about so I didn’t feel that I had to rush back to the hospital that day when I went home to freshen up while living with Stephen on the oncology ward at the hospital.

When I returned to Stephen’s hospital room, I heard him telling M. about his difficulty with eating.  He was emaciated and hadn’t eaten anything for a couple of weeks.  Stephen was quietly telling M. that he didn’t know why he couldn’t eat and M. (who was also battling cancer) seemed to understand him.

Stephen hadn’t told me the things he was telling M.  I remember the many weeks of my attempts to cajole him to eat something and the many tears I cried as I left the room when he left every meal tray untouched.

I felt miserable when I overheard their conversation because I suddenly realized that Stephen was not deliberately refusing his food.  I also felt that he must have thought that I was a horrible person for nagging him about something over which he had no control.

Later that day, Stephen and I discussed what I had overheard that day as I entered his room.  When the doctor suggested a feeding tube, I encouraged Stephen to consider having the procedure so that both of us would be relieved of the anxiety over his cachexia and that I would no longer nag him about eating.  He agreed to have the feeding tube implanted but it prolonged his life only three weeks longer.

M. provided the eulogy at Stephen’s funeral. M. told Stephen’s friends and family that Stephen had told him that I was his guardian angel.  I wish I had arrived early enough to have overheard that part of their conversation.  The second-hand information made me feel a bit better though.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pilot and Pirate | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Conclusion | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Ilya Fostiy. Amnesia | The Bliss of Reality
  4. What Is This? | Exploratorius
  5. Perspective & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Talking on Your Sleep-Psychology behind gossiping | Journeyman
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Sabethville
  8. Being A Mentor | Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Being a Huntress
  9. The Door Opens Hard | Mara Eastern
  10. Human vs. Humans | Rose-tinted Rambles
  11. Chest-speared: poem | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  12. layered | yi-ching lin photography
  13. “You can be so annoying” | Hope* the happy hugger
  14. we can call it an | y
  15. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. Remember where you came from… | Rima Hassan
  17. DAILY PROMPT: Accidental listening | cockatooscreeching
  18. Getting to the end and realising you’re way off topic. Again. | thoughtsofrkh
  19. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  20. From the Whorse’s Mouth | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  21. The One with the Eavesdropping | Jackie Cangro
  22. Overheard at the Miami doctor’s office… | Myammy! Moving in together at 50…
  23. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Basically Beyond Basic
  24. In One Ear And Out The Other | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  25. A Hotel Survivors Guide to Mischief | Green Embers
  26. On Colonics or Why You Shouldn’t Assume People Don’t Understand You | Kosher Adobo
  27. In Time For Dinner | Writing and Works
  28. I See Nothing, I Hear Nothing, I Know Nothing | My Author-itis
  29. Talking in a bus | Life is great
  30. Accidentally Hearing about Accidentally Walking (Daily Prompt Challenge) | Ana Linden
  31. Daily Prompt: Being a Spy! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  32. Things I say in my sleep. | Sticky Notes and Coffee
  33. I Ain’t Been Dropping No Eaves! | meanderedwanderings
  34. My Heart Breaks | Flowers and Breezes
  35. I’ll Take Care | Views Splash!
  36. Words Not Meant For Me | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  37. YOU’LL NEVER OVERHEAR ANYTHING GOOD | SERENDIPITY
  38. Daily Prompt: Talking in your sleep. | Emotional Fitness
  39. Minutely Infinite | Box Of Secrets
  40. Story of My Life. | Asta’s Space
  41. Excuse Me While I Eavesdrop On You | Musings | WANGSGARD
  42. Daily Prompt: More Than Just A Pretty Face (Nonet) | Morrighan’s Muse
  43. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | marilynrayknopic
  44. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  45. Everybody should eavesdrop once in a while… | An Upturned Soul
  46. Don’t pee when you talk to me! | The Salmon Yatra
  47. Talking in My Sleep | A Room of My Own
  48. Overheard | A picture is worth 1000 words
  49. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  50. talking in your sleep | klstar2000
  51. The Art of Stealth Listening | djgarcia94
  52. Talking in Your Sleep | The Nameless One
  53. Color | charlottesville winter
  54. We Got Company Comin’ | The Shotgun Girls
  55. Acidic | High Yellow Darling
  56. (What’s The Story) Morning Glory…? | Steve Says…
  57. Dream talk | Kate Murray
  58. Things I Say | Mila’s Misadventures
  59. Daily Prompt: Talking in your sleep| Your friend may turn out to be your worst enemy | viCKaakin
  60. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Occasional Stuff
  61. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Just Be V
  62. Mistaken | La Gatita Oscura
  63. Accident Waiting to Happen | Travel with Intent
  64. Daily Prompt: Talking in Your Sleep | Here I am !!

 

This entry was posted in Cancer, Daily Prompt, Grief, Love, Remembrance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Talking in your sleep

  1. ranu802 says:

    Hearing part of the conversation does sometimes make one feel hurt.

  2. weggieboy says:

    I’m glad you got the word, even if second hand. What a blessing that was for you!

Leave a comment